State Rep. Avery Bourne Selected for Service on Qualifications Challenge Committee

State Representative Avery Bourne (R-Morrisonville) has been chosen to serve on a state panel that will review and hear challenges to the recent House of Representatives appointment of Eva-Dina Delgado, who was selected to fill the vacancy of former State Representative Luis Arroyo. Arroyo resigned late last year amidst an ethics scandal tied to a wide-spread federal corruption investigation. House Republican Leader Jim Durkin and House Democrat Anne Stava-Murray both filed official challenges to Delgado’s appointment. 

Bourne will serve on the bipartisan committee with Republican State Representatives Patrick Windhorst, John Cabello and Blaine Wilhour, and Democrat State Representatives Emanuel Chris Welch (chair), Kelly Burke, John Connor, Fred Crespo and LaToya Greenwood. The group will meet for the first time on Tuesday, February 25 to establish the procedure and rules for the challenge process.

“It is a great responsibility of our government that we have free and fair elections and it is a responsibility of our legislative body that we protect our chambers from the influence of corruption. It is a privilege to be chosen for this panel, and I look forward to working with my colleagues in the House of Representatives to have a fair process as we explore the challenges to this House appointment,” said Bourne. “During this time of unprecedented ethical turmoil in Illinois, we will work collaboratively and without political influence to determine the validity of Representative Delgado’s appointment to the Arroyo vacancy.”