Rep. Bourne Announces Annual Art Contest Winners

State Representative Avery Bourne (R-Raymond) is pleased to announce the winners of her annual Illinois-themed art contest.

Each year, Representative Bourne invites students in grades K-8 to submit artwork from any 2-D medium (i.e. pen, marker, etc.) on 8 ½ x 11 paper with “Illinois” as the theme. The contest is separated into K-4 and 5-8 divisions, and first place winners from each group will have the opportunity to attend a regular session day at the Statehouse on the day that their winning artwork is presented on the floor of the Illinois House of Representatives. Winners will also be invited to attend a pizza party at Representative Bourne’s Litchfield office.

Winners of the 2019 art contest include:

K-4 Division
1. Lydia Cline, 4th Grade, Cline Family Homeschool

2. Avielle Spudich, Kindergarten, Staunton Grade School

“It is always exciting to highlight our talented young artists,” said Bourne. “This year we received so many creative entries. Thank you to all who submitted Illinois themed art and congratulations to the winners. I look forward to displaying and showing off this artwork in my office over the next year.”

3. Claire, 2nd Grade, Raymond Grade School

5-8 Division
1. Sydney Smith, 7th Grade North Mac Middle School
2. Paityn Regan, 5th Grade, Raymond Grade School
3. Nathan Brown, 5th Grade, Zion Lutheran School in Litchfield

All winning artwork will be displayed on the walls in Representative Bourne’s Springfield office through the remainder of the year. Additionally, all participants’ artwork will be shared in a coffee table book in her office.