Bourne Joins Bipartisan Commission to Reform School Funding Formula

State Representative Avery Bourne (R-Raymond) was appointed today to serve on the newly formed Illinois School Funding Reform Commission by House Republican Leader Jim Durkin. The commission was formed today by Governor Bruce Rauner to reaffirm his commitment to reforming the current school funding formula.

“Our current funding formula is broken. Illinois currently contributes the least of any state to our schools and we are too reliant on property taxes. Our students deserve a better school funding formula.” said Rep. Bourne. “I look forward to continuing to work to improve the way our schools are funded because every student in Illinois, regardless of where they live, deserves a high-quality education.”

The Commission’s objective will be to recommend a comprehensive solution to reform Illinois’ school funding formula. The report is due to the Governor and General Assembly by February 1, 2017, in order for the General Assembly to take action in the 2017 General Session.

The Commission will be composed of five designees from the Administration and each of the legislative leaders. Secretary of Education Beth Purvis will be one of the Governor’s designees and will serve as the Commission’s chairperson. In addition, Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) Chairman Rev. James Meeks will serve as a liaison between ISBE and the Commission.